Google will no longer allow users to have private Google profiles after July 31st, reports Search Engine Land. The launch of Google+ solidified this stance as on Google’s public profiles page, it states:
The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.
Keep in mind that your full name and gender are the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share.
If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted after July 31, 2011.
If you would like to know how your Google profile looks to the public, you can quickly view how others see you, much like Facebook’s “Preview My Profile” feature. If you want to participate in Google+ after this month, you will do so with a public profile.